Image

I experienced something MUCH THE SAME as this. We belonged to our Church for over 13 years. I was a member of my Church’s “Board of Elders”; I taught 2nd – 6th grade “At-Risk” youth from some VERY DANGEROUS neighborhoods nearby every Wednesday evening; I was a member of the “Praise and Worship” team, leading the Congregation on Sunday Mornings before Pastor took the podium…. Sherri was in charge of several fund-raising projects for things like unwed mothers, single families – pretty much any “family-centered” ministry. Without going into details, I lost my job, was in danger of losing our home (which we DID lose….) and everything we had (which we DID lose, eventually). I was very frightened and needed some simple Spiritual Guidance and Solace. To make a long story short, because of what I “shared” with my Pastor, as a member of his “Flock” in DESPERATE need of solace, comfort, and guidance……the VERY NEXT DAY I was NO LONGER a “Church Elder”, having been unceremoniously removed from the Board overnight; I was NO LONGER a “teacher” – ALL my students and classes where suddenly “transferred” to another teacher; I was NO LONGER a member of the Praise and Worship Team, having been relegated back into the seats of the Congregation. DOZENS of our friends, our “Brothers and Sisters In Christ” were confused and stunned and had questions….NONE of which we could answer truthfully and honestly in good conscience. For those leaders in the Congregation who KNEW the facts, we were suddenly pariah to them!! Outcast; emotionally and spiritually “shown the door”; our Spiritual Family, our Brothers and Sisters In Christ abandoned us completely and without a second thought. PLEASE DO NOT MISUNDERSTAND…..THIS incident reflects NOTHING on the TRUE Love, Peace, Understanding, Forgiveness, etc that IS Jesus Christ and God His Father!! THIS was nothing more than “man’s reaction to the failings and humanity of his fellow man”!! I disappointed people who felt betrayed when they found out I have “feet of clay”, too. So I REALLY DO understand what this Brother In Christ is experiencing. And the total loss and disbelief that accompanies total rejection from those you THOUGHT you could trust and depend on to accept, understand, and eventually forgive.

I experienced something MUCH THE SAME as this.  We belonged to our Church for over 13 years.  I was a member of my Church’s “Board of Elders”;  I taught 2nd – 6th grade “At-Risk” youth from some VERY DANGEROUS neighborhoods nearby every Wednesday evening;  I was a member of the “Praise and Worship” team, leading the Congregation on Sunday Mornings before Pastor took the podium….  Sherri was in charge of several fund-raising projects for things like unwed mothers, single families – pretty much any “family-centered” ministry.  Without going into details, I lost my job, was in danger of losing our home (which we DID lose….) and everything we had (which we DID lose, eventually).  I was very frightened and needed some simple Spiritual Guidance and Solace.  To make a long story short, because of what I “shared” with my Pastor, as a member of his “Flock” in DESPERATE need of solace, comfort, and guidance……the VERY NEXT DAY I was NO LONGER a “Church Elder”, having been unceremoniously removed from the Board overnight;  I was NO LONGER a “teacher” – ALL my students and classes where suddenly “transferred” to another teacher;  I was NO LONGER a member of the Praise and Worship Team, having been relegated back into the seats of the Congregation.  DOZENS of our friends, our “Brothers and Sisters In Christ” were confused and stunned and had questions….NONE of which we could answer truthfully and honestly in good conscience.  For those leaders in the Congregation who KNEW the facts, we were suddenly pariah to them!!  Outcast; emotionally and spiritually “shown the door”; our Spiritual Family, our Brothers and Sisters In Christ abandoned us completely and without a second thought.  PLEASE DO NOT MISUNDERSTAND…..THIS incident reflects NOTHING on the TRUE Love, Peace, Understanding, Forgiveness, etc that IS Jesus Christ and God His Father!!  THIS was nothing more than “man’s reaction to the failings and humanity of his fellow man”!!  I disappointed people who felt betrayed when they found out I have “feet of clay”, too.  So I REALLY DO understand what this Brother In Christ is experiencing.  And the total loss and disbelief that accompanies total rejection from those you THOUGHT you could trust and depend on to accept, understand, and eventually forgive.

Send this pitiful excuse for a “Christian Academy” an e-mail and tell them what YOU think. I DID! Here’s the link to contact their Head Administrator:

East Memorial Christian Academy
http://www.emcawildcats.org/

And here is the Church’s “CONTACT” link:

East Memorial Baptist Church
http://www.eastmemorial.org/content.cfm?id=150

“Alabama state champion coach and AD fired for being a member of the wrong church”

http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/highschool-prep-rally/alabama-state-champion-coach-ad-fired-being-member-102348634.html

“One of the most successful coaches in the state of Alabama is…out of a job…dismissed for…a remarkably trivial reason: He attends the wrong church.

…Phillips had never been forced to attend the school’s affiliated church when he was…a coach…that changed when he became…athletic director.

…East Memorial Christian Academy’s athletic director was expected to attend the East Memorial Baptist Church…there was…not an official clause in the contract requiring such attendance.

Phillips tried to make that work, getting his family…each Sunday at a 9 a.m. service at East Memorial before attending an 11 a.m. service at his family’s church of choice, Church of the Highlands. Eventually that routine began to make Phillips feel dishonest, leading to a conversation with East Memorial officials…told them he didn’t feel comfortable attending…East Memorial Baptist…the last conversation he would have as the school’s AD.

…he had to deal with the situation head-on, hoping that Eastern Memorial…would be reasonable about his faith.

That was apparently too much to ask.

“In a nutshell, I told them I miss my old church,” Phillips recalls. “I went in to share my heart to a pastor. Knowing what might happen, but kind of saying, ‘Maybe we can work something out?’ I knew that wasn’t going to be the end of it because it was going to be a process. It wasn’t received well.””

By Doug

Leave a Reply

