Image

A “little known rule”, eh? I guess it pays to read up on the rules of the game you make your living at, doesn’t it!!

A “little known rule”, eh?  I guess it pays to read up on the rules of the game you make your living at, doesn’t it!!

“A’s minor leaguer Vinnie Catricala strikes out on one pitch”

http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/mlb-big-league-stew/astros-minor-leaguer-vinnie-catricala-strikes-one-pitch-182609577.html

“In one single pitch, Catricala struck out against Nick Tropeano.”

You read that correctly. One pitch.

And no, Catricala didn’t pinch-hit for an injured teammate and assume his count. He straight up struck out on one pitch because he elected to dispute a strike call and then took his sweet time getting back in the batter’s box. This drew the ire of home plate umpire Ron Teague, who then decided Catricala was in violation of Rule 6.02 (c), which reads as follows.

‘If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter’s box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter. The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out

Comment: The umpire shall give the batter a reasonable opportunity to take his proper position in the batter’s box after the umpire has called a strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c) and before the umpire calls a successive strike pursuant to Rule 6.02(c).’”

Advertisements
By Doug

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s